Log in

Meet the 2022 Annual Conference Speakers

Additional information will be added as it is available.

Patrick Bauer, MD - Medical College of Wisconsin
Dr. Patrick Bauer is an Assistant Professor of Neurology in the Epilepsy division at the Medical College of Wisconsin. He divides his effort equally amongst his clinical practice and epilepsy research. He is particularly interested in the application of connectome-based neuroimaging tools and neuropsychology towards further understanding the broad electroclinical phenotypic spectrum of the genetic (formerly idiopathic) generalized epilepsies. He has a secondary interest in novel diagnostic EEG technologies and neurostimulation treatments for drug-resistant seizures.

Laurel Bessey, MD - University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
Dr. Laurel Bessey is a board certified adult psychiatrist and Assistant Professor in Department of Psychiatry at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health (UWSMPH). Dr. Bessey serves as associate training director to the University of Wisconsin Psychiatry Residency. She completed her psychiatry residency as chief resident in 2018 at the University of Wisconsin Psychiatry Residency Program. Her academic work and clinical area of interest focuses on geriatric mental health and specifically geriatric substance use.

Donn Dexter, MD - Mayo Clinic
Dr. Donn Dexter is a graduate of the University of Minnesota and received his medical degree from Mayo Medical School in Rochester, MN. He completed his residency in Neurology and a fellowship in Sleep Medicine at the Mayo Graduate School of Medicine. He has practiced neurology at Mayo Clinic Health System in Eau Claire since 1993 where he also serves as Chair of Education. He was named Mayo Clinic Distinguished Educator in 2019. Dr. Dexter is an enthusiastic, if not terribly gifted hockey player for the Mighty Docs Hockey Club.

Douglas B Matthews, MD - University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire
Douglas B Matthews is a Professor of Psychology at the University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire. His laboratory investigates the behavioral and neurobiological effects of ethanol across the lifespan. He has published over 80 peer reviewed papers and his laboratory has been awarded over $2.5 million dollars in research support.

Justin A. Sattin, MD - University of Wisconsin
Dr. Sattin is a Professor of Neurology at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health. A Philadelphia native, Dr. Sattin earned his medical degree from Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia and completed his medicine internship and neurology residency at the University of Virginia. He completed a two-year stroke fellowship at the University of California-San Diego.

Dr. Sattin is the former director of both UW’s comprehensive stroke program and adult neurology residency training programs; he still serves as the department’s Vice Chair for Education.

Dr. Sattin has an additional interest in biomedical ethics. He served for over a decade on the UW IRB, including a few stints as chair. He also served three terms on the Ethics, Law, and Humanities Committee, a joint committee of the American Academy of Neurology, the American Neurological Association, and the Child Neurology society. That committee recently developed an AAN Position Statement, Consent Issues in the Management of Acute Ischemic Stroke, which helped prompt his talk at the conference.

Adam Wallace, MD - University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
Adam Wallace is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Neurology at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health. He completed Pediatric Neurology residency training at University of Colorado and a Pediatric Epilepsy Fellowship at Mayo Clinic. He is currently the Director of Inpatient Services at American Family Children's Hospital and the Child Neurology Residency Program Director. His interests are focused on quality improvement pertinent to neurologic care delivered in the hospital.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software